The Inheritance Cycle – Top 3 most memorable moments

Now, when I say “Eragon” most people probably think of the not-so-brilliant film of 2006, but there’s much more to Eragon than that. Eragon is the first of four books in The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini (followed by Eldest, Brisingr, and Inheritance), a series that I would highly recommend. The Inheritance Cycle was responsible for igniting my love of fantasy: dragons, magic, elves, dwarves, languages, and beautifully written … what’s not to love?

Not only were these books an absolute joy to read, they were so immersive and magical that I became really emotionally invested in the story and the characters. If you have read them, perhaps you can relate to these ‘most memorable moments’ from the Cycle. If you haven’t read them, I suggest that you do (granted they look a little intimidating in size, but they are well worth it!) and then maybe come back and read the memorable moments after.

**SPOILERS AHEAD**

Most memorable moment no. 3 – Inheritance, finding the eggs and Eldunarí on Vroengard

This was a beautiful moment in the series: the moment that Eragon and Saphira realise they are not alone in the world, and Saphira is not the last of her species. I vividly remember reading this in the school library and exclaiming something along the lines of “holy crap”, out of sheer awe and amazement, much to the horror of the librarian. I was, of course, told to be quiet … I don’t think I’ve ever seen such quiet scolding. As I used to be a huge nerd and was terrified of being told off, it was a small miracle that this didn’t actually seem to bother me. Honestly, I was so happy for Eragon and Saphira that the school librarian meant squat. In that instant, I cared more about them than myself, and I think that’s saying something for how invested I was in these books and how amazing they are. Or, it could just show how sad I am, take it whichever way you want.

Most memorable moment no. 2 – Brisingr, Brom is revealed as Eragon’s father

I’m going to be brutally honest here – I cried, I cried buckets. I cried like a baby with serious teething problems. Don’t get me wrong, they were happy tears. Oh my God, I was so happy. After spending so long believing that Morzan was Eragon’s father, to discover that Brom, our favourite storyteller-come-mentor, was actually his father was a massive relief. And the message he left for Eragon in Saphira’s memories was pure beauty – it was so touching and sincere. Brom was always one of my favourite characters, and remained that way even after his death in book one (yeah, thanks for that one Paolini), and this moment really settled it for me. To see how much he cared about Eragon, and how much he wished that he could show it, was really emotional. So, as much as I would sulk with Mr Paolini for killing off Brom, I would completely forgive him for this single instant. I LOVED this moment.

Most memorable moment no. 1 – Eldest, Murtagh drops THAT bombshell

But this one has to be my most memorable moment from The Inheritance Cycle. Whereas the previous two moments were moments of sheer joy and relief, this was hard cold shock. Murtagh’s bad blood has tortured him his whole life – we see that almost from the first time we meet him – and even in Farthen Dûr, it causes him problems with Ajihad. But for him to then place that on Eragon’s shoulders was the biggest bombshell I have ever had the displeasure of reading. I think I 100% could have been diagnosed with shock after reading this passage. I put the book down in slow motion and stared at the wall for about 20 minutes before the whole family descended on us for a barbecue. I legit spoke to three people in the whole day. My mum was genuinely concerned about me: she kept asking if I was okay and what was wrong, and I felt pretty stupid for saying that it was my book that had affected me so much, but that was the truth. I went to carry on reading later on that night, but I couldn’t. I couldn’t bring myself to pick the book back up again, because I knew I would only read more about Eragon’s evil bloodline, and I absolutely didn’t want to hear that. It took me at least 24 hours to go back to it, hence why I was so relieved to find out Eragon’s true parentage. But no book has ever affected as badly as that moment did, and I’m not sure it ever will. That, is my most memorable moment from The Inheritance Cycle.

Author: camillehatcher

Bookworm, film fanatic, quote master, and apprentice wordsmith.

2 thoughts on “The Inheritance Cycle – Top 3 most memorable moments”

  1. Gosh, yes, YES. TO ALL OF IT.

    I sometimes forget that I love these books so much. Gosh. My heart. Now I want to reread all of them and gnaaaah. Thank you thank you thank you.

    (Murtagh. My son. 👌🏼)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

